TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

Remember to do a search before you ask a question!!!

Guidance Requested on Drawing Walls in 2D Floor Plan
Read 7359 times
* August 03, 2012, 04:25:30 PM
Hello,

I am new to TurboCAD, and would like to ask advice on how to draw walls on a 2D floor plan.  I am currently using the walls tool, and it works well.  I appreciate the built-in features, such as self-healing. I created blocks for other common floor plan objects (doors, windows) My concern, however, is that walls in TurboCAD are really a 3D object. Would be it more efficient to use another tool (say double line) to create walls as 2D objects?  Or should I be concerned about this at all, and continue to use the walls tool?

Thank you very much for any advice you could give me.

Kate---

TurboCAD Professional 19.1 Platinum

Kate---

TurboCAD Professional V19.1 x64

* August 03, 2012, 05:24:37 PM
Hello,

however, is that walls in TurboCAD are really a 3D object. Would be it more efficient to use another tool (say double line) to create walls as 2D objects?  Or should I be concerned about this at all, and continue to use the walls tool?

Thank you very much for any advice you could give me.

Kate---

"Double line Polyline" and "Double line tools" would be another option.
T meet 2 Double Lines & Intersect 2 Double lines would help with Self Healing.

DonCW
2017 Pro with Light Works Plug in
2018 Platinum

Windows 10
There's so much to learn and not much time left to learn it.

* August 03, 2012, 10:34:51 PM
The Wall tool does have its drawbacks, where the Double Line tools doesn't; such as two Walls in the same location. If drawing a multistory building, Walls should be at the Z-height they're being built at, otherwise you get an 'interference-X' in the walls. Double Lines can be in the same place and 'plane and not create these interference problems.