TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

Remember to do a search before you ask a question!!!

Architects & Builders - Is IMSI serious about gaining Construction Pro's?
Read 7075 times
* April 16, 2012, 01:27:43 PM
I am a design-build contractor.  Is IMSI serious about selling itself to construction pros?  The reason I ask that I've downloaded the trial of TC19 and out of the marketing, the forum, and the training that comes with the software - I get a distinct message that IMSI isn't devoting a lot to winning the builder or architect over.  It's all little bits and pieces but never the whole A to Z information or training that a pro designer or builder needs to know.
The Kevin Mendenhall training video seems to be the extent of how the use T-CAD in construction design - but by the advertising, it's a lesson on one single-level house - and lacks any reference that you will learn how to draw the complete plan of every house.  Where does a new but experienced pro learn to create from the plot plan, plot contours, select foundation types, add stories, create schedules, material lists, engineering specs, wall layers, truss and joist details - basically have everthing permit ready.
There also seems right now to be no training on how to work plans into Google Sketchup Pro or another program to integrate 3-D landscaping, since it seems to have none of it's own.
When I look at Cadsoft's marketing page http://www.cadsoft.com/builders.php - I know they want a builder to buy and it's a one-stop application.
The same with Chief Architect.  Those marketing sites have a clear message:  "We want architects and builders".
So Turcbocad building industry pros - what makes T-CAD the standout to you?  I'd love to be be convinced to buy - right now the trial isn't thrilling me to stay since it has little of no available pro architectural-buiilder training in the trail download.
Thanks 

* April 16, 2012, 09:36:12 PM