TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

When posting a problem be sure to include which version you are using.  Give as much information as possible.  If the problem is with a specific file be sure to attache it to your post.

Solidworks mates in TurboCAD?
Read 6988 times
* March 08, 2010, 01:20:10 PM
Hi Guys,

I am new to turboCAD (like about 3 days new!), I have recently moved to it from having worked in Solidworks for years. I am currently using the Pro version of turbo CAD.

Is there any similar system to the mate system in Solidworks in TurboCad? I am having difficulty lining models accurately with eachother and cant seem to find any tutorials on how to do this.

Any help in snapping objects together in this way would be appreciated.

* March 08, 2010, 01:22:12 PM
Is there any similar system to the mate system in Solidworks in TurboCad? I am having difficulty lining models accurately with eachother and cant seem to find any tutorials on how to do this.

Any help in snapping objects together in this way would be appreciated.

Open the Help file and read about the Assembly tools.

Henry H

* March 08, 2010, 03:39:08 PM
Great thanks, thats not quite the same as the mating in Solidworks, but it definately helps with the positioning.  ;D

March 08, 2010, 03:54:01 PM
A common technique used in TurboCAD is to re-position the Reference Point of the object being moved so that it can be snapped to some characteristic of a second object (a vertex, the center of a circular surface, the middle of an edge, etc.).

You can even move a selection of multiple objects in this manner by selecting them, adjusting the Reference Point, then moving all of them.  When you de-select them, their individual Reference Points remain unchanged.