TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

The purpose of these forums is to discuss TurboCAD.  Please keep the discussion of other products to compatibility issues or how the other software’s can be used with TurboCAD.

Layer Interdependancy in Modelspace, Paperspace, & Viewports
Read 14657 times
May 29, 2009, 04:22:00 PM
Hello,
I am a long-time Turbocad Pro user and am pulling my hair out with this latest issue:

I work in 3-D solids designing miniature engines.  All modeling is done in Model Space, then the details and assemblies are done in paperspace.  OK, now here is the issue.  When inserting viewports in paper space, they seem to be linked to the model in a way I haven't seen before.  Prior to V16, I have never had to worry about what layers are turned on in the model -- the viewport layers are independant.

In my latest project, if the layers that are turned on in the model must match those I would like to see in the viewport.  Even more puzzling is that if I have an assembly shown in a viewport (using one viewport for each view, etc.), if I toggle the layer to visible in design director (or layer manager), then toggle it off, the layers in EACH of the viewports turn off that layer as well.  More puzzling yet, the viewports still show the layer as visible in the viewport properties window.  Even more puzzling is that NOW, in order to see the parts that are on in the viewport, the corresponding layer must be visible in design director.  Just when you think it couldn't get any more puzzling, this issue does not affect all drawing sheets - just those created in TC-Pro 16.

Currently I am at about 90 layers out of a possible 150 or so needed to finish the project.  I will likely have 30+ B-size drawing sheets -- each possibly affected by the above issue.