TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

Be sure your post is relevant to the current discussion.  Create a new topic within the appropriate board if you are unsure.

.dxf export too large!!!
Read 6119 times
* December 28, 2009, 10:37:52 AM
Hello All!  Newbie here... I've been using TurboCAD V16.0 for a month or so and going through the video tutorials that came with software.

I am currently working on a scale RC airplane with a friend.  As typical in this hobby, the files are sent to a laser cutter service.  The laser cutter I'm currently working with can work in .dwg files and .dxf

My problem is that when I save the file as a .dxf it's 43MB!!!!  When I save it as .dwg it's 5MB.  The native .tcw is only 493KB.

So, is there something I'm missing here?  The laser cutter guy said .dxf should be pretty small.   I may want to try a local laser cutting service but he can only work with .dxf files.

Attached are some screen caps so you get an idea of what the actual drawing is..

THANKS!

Chad

[attachment deleted by admin]

* December 28, 2009, 11:38:36 AM
Make them into smaller file wouldn't hurt if possible.

Even a mistake may turn out to be the one thing necessary to a worthwhile achievement Henry Ford
If I have ever made any valuable discoveries it has been owing more to patient attention than to any other talent Isaac Newton
I have not failed Ive just found 10,000 ways that won't work Thomas Edison

* December 28, 2009, 09:10:04 PM
Well I just figured out that I'm running "Designer" not "Pro."  There is an option in the current version (16.2) of Pro that has an option during export that might possibly help.

I hesitate to downgrade any of the precision since these parts are meant to fit together like a 3-dimensional jigsaw puzzle.

I'm not sure if I want to invest in "Pro" yet since I'm just using this for my hobby.  I may just try saving each section alone instead all of the pieces in one file.

Thanks!