TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

Be sure your post is relevant to the current discussion.  Create a new topic within the appropriate board if you are unsure.

2D Boolean operations not operable
Read 11289 times
* February 28, 2015, 08:04:16 AM
I'm playing around with TurboCAD 21 Deluxe.  I've got a simple drawing with both 2D and 3D objects that I have drawn.  I can do all sorts of 3D boolean operations, but for some reason, I can't do any 2D.  I've made sure that the 2D objects are in the current workplane (which happens to the the world workplane), and I've tried toggling from 3D to 2D.  Nothing seems to work.  When I click on the 2D subtract icon, it just goes to the selector arrow, as opposed to when I click on the 3D subtract icon, it goes to the 3D subtract prompts.

I hope I've explained this well enough.  I'd appreciate any help.  I've been using TurboCAD 18 for a few years without the 2D boolean capability, working around the issue by creating and moving nodes around.  It'a probably going to be something really simple.

Thanks,
Nate

* February 28, 2015, 08:19:07 AM
It should work, Nate. Remember that objects that lie on the same pPlane aren't necessarily on the same Workplane. Select all of the objects you want to operate on and apply "Place on Workplane." If that doesn't fix the problem, please post the .tcw file.

Henry H

* February 28, 2015, 12:20:28 PM
I'm playing around with TurboCAD 21 Deluxe.
Thanks,
Nate

How is it that you are sure that the "selector arrow" you report it "goes to" when you click on the 2D Subtract icon isn't the 2D Subtract selector-arrow.
I mean... how else are you going to choose what to select for the objects of the 2D Boolean operation without an arrow or something as your cursor.

Additionally, from the TurboCAD Wiki:

Designer & Deluxe
*Designer and Deluxe do not allow the selection of multiple objects in a 2D Boolean operation.