TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

Interested in some really terrific mobile apps? Visit www.turboapps.com for details.

Sectioning Buildings
Read 3080 times
* October 17, 2009, 11:37:43 PM
Dear All,

Complete newbie so please excuse if these questions are dumb!

Please find attached a copy of my first ever attemp at 3D house design. TC15  However, I would like to take th model further and have subsequently upgraded to TC16.

2 questions

1) Can I take a cross section of the building and if so how. I cant get the section toll to work.

2) I would really like to add some lights internally - eg down lighters to ceilings. I understand that lunminance is probably the best way of proceeding but I have no idea how to do this or position the sources with accuracy.

Any help or other comments would be really appreciated.

[attachment deleted by admin]

* October 18, 2009, 05:36:52 AM
1. Sectioning — haven't tried that tool yet. I don't know if views with perspective would do (room1, room2, etc).

2. Luminance — The best way is to assign a luminance to an object. Use "Load to render luminance only"; this way only the luminance renders, not the object it's assigned to. Place a copy in each room. I placed some in a copy of your drawing.

They don't have the greatest selection of bricks for metric use, so I made some changes. I think that greenhouse is on the wrong workplane.

John R.

V17—V21, 2015—2019
Designer, Deluxe, (Professional, Expert, Basic), Platinum
RedSDK enabled
Windows 10 Pro (1903), 64-bit

* October 18, 2009, 07:40:49 AM
I haven't messed around with the Section tool myself much, but here are the basics.

1. Create a section line using the Architectural Section Line tool

2. Double click on the section line, and give it a width and height

3. Use either the Horizontal or Vertical section tool and follow the prompts.

You can create 2D or 3D sections... see attached.

AMD Phenom 1090T
8GB RAM
Radeon 5450 1GB
Windows 7