TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

When posting a problem be sure to include which version you are using.  Give as much information as possible.  If the problem is with a specific file be sure to attache it to your post.

Material/colors for .step files
Read 4854 times
* October 13, 2009, 12:48:36 PM
An electrical engineer by trade, I am working on creating 3D models of electronic components (IC's, connectors, LED's, etc.) for our ECAD system (which uses STEP format) to produce realistic looking board models for my company's clients. I have found a great resource in 3D Content Central, but they don't have all of the models I need and waiting for a request to be filled is troublesome at times.

I have TC 15.2 Pro installed. Any time that I open a .step file in TC, I find that the model is completely black.

I have followed the instructions from several posts to remove all material assignments in Facet Edit mode and then assign materials to various objects/facets (depending on the construction of the model that I downloaded). Every time that I re-export in step format, my ECAD system sucks in a solid colored model (I know it is not an issue with the ECAD software because I can import multicolored STEP models from other sources without problem). I then open the model in TC again, and all material assignments are lost or at least the colors associated with them!

So, I created a rudimentary SOT-143 IC from scratch as a .tcw, set the pins of the device to Metals > Chromium and the body to Plastics > Plain Black. When I save the TCW out as a STEP file, I get the same results as though I started out with a STEP model!

I have also tried starting out from .sat format models and get the same results.  I managed once to close and reopen a .sat file in TC without losing material/color information. When I uploaded the file to 3DCC, the model appeared as one solid color (Chromium).