TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

When replying to a specific statement be sure to quote the previous post.

Absolute Beginner
Read 2368 times
* May 12, 2012, 09:21:17 AM
Hi All,
I am brand new to all things CAD.
I need to be able to produce simple designs showing dimensions.

I can make an oblong with the draw an oblong tool.
I can get the dimension tool to tell me how long that oblong is

I want to draw an oblong of a certain hight/width and have the thing display the dimensions on the drawing.

I do not understand the scale of things. How do I know how big I am drawing something? If I draw something in a page doc then I know that the sheet is A4 and so I can tell the approximate size of what I have drawn. On this I cannot tell anything....

HELP!!! Many good vids etc but they all seem to assume basic knowledge. WHere do I ge the how to get started for the terminally stupid before the 15 day trial ends?

If I cannot make this do what ai need then I do not need to waste money on it. I need to look for something else.

Please help.

* May 12, 2012, 11:48:17 AM
First, what version of TC are you using? (Exactly including patches/upgrades)

Second Have you tried the "startup" videos?

Third you probably need to spend some money on some training materials.
http://www.turbocad.com/TurboCAD/TurboCADWindows/Training/tabid/558/Default.aspx

The 2D/3D bundle is worth  every penny and then some!

Fourth -- have you figured out how to access the manual -- it has many "mini tutorials".

Fifth -- look at Don Chekes tips and tutorials for some help.
http://www.textualcreations.ca/Don_Cheke%27s_TurboCAD_Tips.html

AND -- right above your post was this! Video Tutorials -- which should be good to the current version from V17 on!
http://forums.turbocad.com/index.php/topic,2905.0.html

And don't forget Youtube...