TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

Remember to do a search before you ask a question!!!

polylines
Read 2468 times
* March 11, 2010, 09:34:08 AM
Hello and thank you to everyone for being so kind here.  I am a newbie and have tried to look for the answer in the help and forum to no avail.  I would like to know if I can convert a polyline into a solid?  I am using TC 15 Deluxe 2d/3d.

thank you

* March 11, 2010, 09:52:37 AM
Hello and thank you to everyone for being so kind here.  I am a newbie and have tried to look for the answer in the help and forum to no avail.  I would like to know if I can convert a polyline into a solid?  I am using TC 15 Deluxe 2d/3d.

thank you

You can either Extrude the polyline, or go to its Properties page and assign a 3D Thickness. (Double click on the polyline to open its Properties dialog.)

Henry H

* March 11, 2010, 01:42:16 PM
H.H.,  sorry I screwed up and did not describe what I was trying to do clearly. I would like to take a shape like a square made out of 3d polylines and change it to a solid. First I must close the 3d polylines somehow and then extrude them but I cannot figure out how.

Thanks HH and everyone.

March 11, 2010, 02:30:23 PM
I tried some experiments with a 3D Polyline (sort of like a square, but slanted).  I specified different coordinate systems in different ways.  I also changed between World and Entity coordinates.

Every extrusion went parallel to the World Z axis with the highest face parallel to XY (this means the result was rectangular solid and a wedge (if I specified the Height large enough to compensate for the angle of the 3D Polyline).

I was unable to get the Extrusion to be orthogonal to the plane of the 3D Polyline.

This is not what I expected.

Jeff

TC Pro Platinum 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016 & 2015 (all with LightWorks & RedSDK) & V21