TurboCAD Forums

Turbo Talk => General Discussion => Topic started by: edbardet on September 13, 2012, 08:23:05 AM

Title: Warning on new UPGRADE / PATCH
Post by: edbardet on September 13, 2012, 08:23:05 AM
This is a complete reinstall that restores all your previous settings. Be prepared to reload workspaces etc. Treat it as a reinstall and you will be ok.
Title: Re: Warning on new UPGRADE / PATCH
Post by: wd on September 13, 2012, 09:08:57 AM
Just a Opinion
Another choice if they put 19.2 in the future is check on the forum home page on the Update board.There may be something there to use. Sometimes they just put the fixes and a complete reinstall full build both options are available.But you have to read it carefully and study its contents so interpretation isn't lost ..
I was never fan that popup update thing even with other programs.I always had some sort of issue where some file hiccup in the down load process.Normally if the program is offer as a new update and is offer to the next version I just uninstall it and reload the version.
Title: Re: Warning on new UPGRADE / PATCH
Post by: edbardet on September 13, 2012, 10:18:10 AM
Nothing on that board after April!
Caveat Emptor! (sp?)
Title: Re: Warning on new UPGRADE / PATCH
Post by: freyart on September 13, 2012, 09:59:07 PM
Unfortunately I had no idea this was a complete reinstall update that would obliterate all custom settings and put me almost a day and a half behind on my project as I reconfigured everything. I saw no warning during the update process saying this would be a result of the update and I'm a bit miffed that I'm out both time and money. - VERY uncool IMSI...
Title: Re: Warning on new UPGRADE / PATCH (Backup Configuration & .ini Files)
Post by: Alvin Gregorio on September 14, 2012, 03:57:32 AM
Just so future Users know- for when they do the Upgrade or Patch:


In many previous Topics on these Forums, it has been often highly-advised- by both the expert Users and IMSI/TuboCAD associates- that before doing an Updrade or Patch, one create a Back-up of their custom Workspace files (Configuration files) and .ini files.  Because, yes, all User-Customized Workspace and other settings (via .ini file: Luminance, Material, RedSDK localized settings) will be lost when Patching via Update, or Upgrading.

Now that Updates are being pushed to the TurboCAD desktop automatically, Users are highly-advised to create-  and refresh often-  copies of their customized configuration and .ini files in a separate directory for easy access and re-assigment* after doing an Upgrade or Patch.

----
Of course, the point can easily be made that if one didn't/doesn't know to read those Posts in the Forums prior to to Updating/Upgrading, how would one know to read them?
 
----
Yes, there should be an advisory warning prior to the actual installation of an Upgrade, Patch, Update advising the User that:
 
All Custom Workspace Configurations and Settings Will Be Lost upon installation of this Update!!
It is highly advised that you create Backup copies of your custom configuration and .ini files in a separate directory.
Create Backups now?

-Alvin
 
*(likely, "re-assignment" is incorrect terminology here)
Title: Re: Warning on new UPGRADE / PATCH
Post by: wd on September 14, 2012, 04:36:50 AM
Well put Al.You beat me to draw  ;) ..IMO continuation updates should be always available here of the forum home page
Title: Re: Warning on new UPGRADE / PATCH
Post by: Darrel Durose on September 14, 2012, 04:53:05 AM
I am surprised by people who complain about their workspaces after updates. I personally hardly alter the layout so when updates come it only takes 5 minutes to add the toolbar layouts I want.

Many software packages have fixed workspaces and the ones that can be customised don't always have the option to save the configuration. I remember doing an uninstall on a "so called" professional design package and it deleted all the user files!! What a mess that was!!

The tools are there to save the info and settings you want to keep, don't blame the software for not thinking for you!!
Title: Re: Warning on new UPGRADE / PATCH
Post by: murray dickinson on September 14, 2012, 09:29:23 AM
I used to set up TC just so, but I realised a few years ago that my conservative preference meant that I wasn't exploring how to use new tools, so I just started using default setups.  I like to think that I'm a little more adventurous, and find it just a little easier to adapt to new stuff.   I don't get annoyed by it, anyhow.