TurboCAD Forums

Turbo Talk => Problems => Topic started by: Jordan on April 29, 2011, 11:25:32 AM

Title: "Save As" to past versions?
Post by: Jordan on April 29, 2011, 11:25:32 AM
I am running up against a wall in V18 where I need to do a presentation that has viewports and I'm getting UE's when I try to use floating model space.

I had assumed that in case of problems I could always save my file in a previous format, compatible with V15, which I still have installed. It won't be the first time. Many of us had to revert to previous versions when new TCAD versions came out and didn't work. Today I felt I had to do this again in order to do the presentation. I was surprised when I found only a current choice for TCW and TCW V17. I tried to open the file with V15, not really expecting it to work, and sure enough it didn't. I looked for a file export option, but didn't find one. I found a tool to convert files, but it had only the same choices.

Where do I find the utility or tool to save the V18 file back to some version that V15 can read?
Title: Re: "Save As" to past versions?
Post by: John R on April 29, 2011, 11:46:09 AM
Most people use the DWG format to send a drawing back to a much earlier version of TurboCAD. When saving to DWG, click on the "Setup" button and choose AutoCAD 2007 or earlier. V15 should be able to read AC2007 okay.
Title: Re: "Save As" to past versions?
Post by: Jordan on May 03, 2011, 11:44:05 AM
Thanks, John.

What will happen with TCAD 3D architectural objects, like walls, roofs, etc.? My guess is that I'll have a bunch of regular 3D objects which won't give me the correct hidden line views of the building elevations.

Still, it looks like I can draw 2D plans/sections all the way back to AutoCAD 2000 and I should be able to finish my plans in AutoCAD 2000 if all else fails (although that may be problematic too. ACAD 2000 is so old I have to run it under Win7 in XP virtual mode).
Title: Re: "Save As" to past versions?
Post by: John R on May 03, 2011, 01:52:30 PM
I think the architectural objects should transfer OK, but that's just a guess. You'll have to experiment.
Title: Re: "Save As" to past versions?
Post by: DTTurbocad on May 03, 2011, 04:16:35 PM
AutoCAD does not support walls. Our walls are AutoCAD Architeture (ACA) defined, so will most likely get converted to "proxy objects".
New versions of ACAD have a enabler that can be used for better conversion, however I'm not sure how thorough round tripping and editing will be.