TurboCAD Forums

Turbo Talk => Problems => Topic started by: Jeffin90620 on June 30, 2019, 11:57:48 PM

Title: How do I make a bunch of holes?
Post by: Jeffin90620 on June 30, 2019, 11:57:48 PM
In the attached file, I want the Polylines on layer PCB Holes to be actual holes in the PCB on layer PCB.

The problem is, there are a lot of holes.

I have been unable to select the holes for a Simple Extrude by any sort of 'group select' other than holding down the <Shift> key and manually clicking on each object.

How can I do this an easier way?


Jeff
Title: Re: How do I make a bunch of holes?
Post by: murray dickinson on July 01, 2019, 04:31:47 AM
I can't use the download, no 2019, but in earlier versions, quick pulling the face of the PCB upward will give a thicker board with blind holes.  I don't know if you've got lands and tracks that'll interfere with that, you might have to deal with them some way.  Pull a copy of the board object down to the face of the original and intersect the two, it'll  give you with a board with holes quickly, but no history. 
Title: Re: How do I make a bunch of holes?
Post by: Jeffin90620 on July 01, 2019, 07:07:45 AM
Quick Pull has not been working, for some reason, but only with the hole outlines I imported.  If I draw a 2D object, QP works fine.

At first, I thought it was the fact that the holes were filled Polygons with invisible edges, so I changed that.  I also made sure to place them on the top of the PCB (made it the Workplane), but I noticed that the displayed Workplane was flipping and moving when I clicked off the board, even though I had turned off Autoworkplane by Facet.

Aggravating.

Thanks for the tip, though; I'll keep that in mind for when I can use it.


Jeff
Title: Re: How do I make a bunch of holes?
Post by: Dean on July 01, 2019, 06:34:19 PM
In the attached file, I want the Polylines on layer PCB Holes to be actual holes in the PCB on layer PCB.

The problem is, there are a lot of holes.

I have been unable to select the holes for a Simple Extrude by any sort of 'group select' other than holding down the <Shift> key and manually clicking on each object.

How can I do this an easier way?


Jeff

Jeff, you weren't kidding when you said a lot of holes.  ;D
>Select holes by layer
> add thickness
> 3D add them
> Subtract from the plate
I can't imagine the Quick pull tool working, that tool is half baked, will probably freeze up TC.
Title: Re: How do I make a bunch of holes?
Post by: Jeffin90620 on July 02, 2019, 12:57:59 AM

Jeff, you weren't kidding when you said a lot of holes.  ;D
>Select holes by layer
> add thickness
> 3D add them
> Subtract from the plate

I experimented with adding thickness, but it would not subtract.  3D Adding them all together did the trick (strength in numbers, I guess).

Thank you kindly.


Jeff
Title: Re: How do I make a bunch of holes?
Post by: murray dickinson on July 02, 2019, 01:42:29 AM
Why are they faceted?   
Title: Re: How do I make a bunch of holes?
Post by: Jeffin90620 on July 02, 2019, 01:51:53 AM
Because I could only export the Gerber file as a PDF and it approximated circles the way Deluxe does (lots of short lines).  The DXF Export from the PCB Layout software I use only exports unplated holes.


Jeff
Title: Re: How do I make a bunch of holes?
Post by: murray dickinson on July 02, 2019, 02:06:15 AM
That's probably at least part of the reason why quick pull would choke.  I don't agree with Dean that it's flaky, but there are limits to the number of faces to internal islands on a region, this very humble six-year-old 1.4 GHz Celeron with 8 Gb RAM would handle about 100 reasonably comfortably, things slow down after that.   Slicing and dicing to reduce the face count is simple with lines across the pull face though.     
Title: Re: How do I make a bunch of holes?
Post by: Jeffin90620 on July 02, 2019, 03:23:09 AM
Well, I finally got what I asked for, but not what I wanted.

After giving thickness to the holes and 3D adding them together, I did the same thing to the pads, then overlaid them and did a couple of 3D subtracts.

The resulting file is 409 MB.

I think I'll take a Drill file and place some properly-sized cylinders at its map locations.  With a cylindrical walls instead of faceted approximations, I should get something a lot smaller.


Jeff
Title: Re: How do I make a bunch of holes?
Post by: Dean on July 02, 2019, 11:13:22 AM
Well, I finally got what I asked for, but not what I wanted.

After giving thickness to the holes and 3D adding them together, I did the same thing to the pads, then overlaid them and did a couple of 3D subtracts.

The resulting file is 409 MB.

I think I'll take a Drill file and place some properly-sized cylinders at its map locations.  With a cylindrical walls instead of faceted approximations, I should get something a lot smaller.


Jeff

What are you doing exactly with the pads, Jeff..
I haven't tried it yet but did you remove the brush pattern before adding thickness to the pads.
Title: Re: How do I make a bunch of holes?
Post by: Jeffin90620 on July 02, 2019, 11:55:52 AM
What are you doing exactly with the pads, Jeff..
I haven't tried it yet but did you remove the brush pattern before adding thickness to the pads.

The original exported data was polylines with a solid fill and invisible line.  I made the lines visible and removed the brush fill.  The size came from the round holes being composed of a couple dozen line segments each.

If I re-do the work, I will just keep the larger holes and make them smooth.


Jeff
Title: Re: How do I make a bunch of holes?
Post by: murray dickinson on July 03, 2019, 12:44:09 AM
Will the polygons convert to arc polylines?   They should thicken, add together and subtract from the board as cylinders without faceting. 
Title: Re: How do I make a bunch of holes?
Post by: Jeffin90620 on July 03, 2019, 04:02:46 AM
Will the polygons convert to arc polylines?   They should thicken, add together and subtract from the board as cylinders without faceting.

Arc Polylines were not completely cylinders, although I could experiment with the conversion parameters to tweak the results.  Converting to Curves wasn't any better.

However, I cannot invoke the command when I have all of the Polylines selected.

I was able to use the Select By Similar command (new to 2019) to select all the the same size/shaped Polylines, so that may be worth investigating.  There are a lot of differently sized holes, however (27, to be exact).


Jeff
Title: Re: How do I make a bunch of holes?
Post by: murray dickinson on July 03, 2019, 04:34:12 AM
A curiosity that I noticed with regular polygons created in TC, converted to arc polylines, is that the faces of the non-cylinders blend into each other, becoming cylinders, when the all of the parts are added.
Title: Re: How do I make a bunch of holes?
Post by: Jeffin90620 on July 03, 2019, 05:45:29 AM
It worked, a whole lot faster than the original technique and with a much smaller file size (10 MB instead of 440 MB).

Thanks for the guidance.


Jeff