TurboCAD Forums

Turbo Talk => Tips and Tricks => Topic started by: John B. on June 07, 2019, 09:14:56 AM

Title: Legacy 32 Bit with Windows 10 64 Bit
Post by: John B. on June 07, 2019, 09:14:56 AM
After getting Windows 10 64 Bit running, I found that I couldn't use my 15+ year old scanner to work.  It couldn't be found but I kept trying to install it over and over again and using several versions of the software until I had the scanner show up in Device Manager and "working properly" even though the program itself wouldn't work yet.  It was an issue of 32 Bit programs.  However, an old printer worked without hesitation so I kept on trying and restarting the computer dozens of times.
I found a video on YouTube that fixed it for me:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kyoyorh-YGQ
I have my scanner working.  From Control Panel I went to Programs and Features and turned Windows features ON.  I then found "Internet Information Services" and in Advanced I made "Enable 32 bit Applications" TRUE.  Then restarted the computer.  I checked for compatibility with "Troubleshoot Compatibility" and ran as administrator and the program suddenly appeared.
Anytime there are problems with Windows 10 do a search on the web for solutions.  I hope this helps if anyone is having problems.
Title: Re: Legacy 32 Bit with Windows 10 64 Bit
Post by: Henry Hubich on June 07, 2019, 09:25:14 AM
Thanks for the tip, John. Those "features" are impossible to understand without some kind of expert guidance.

Henry H
Title: Re: Legacy 32 Bit with Windows 10 64 Bit
Post by: John B. on June 07, 2019, 12:54:50 PM
Thanks for the tip, John. Those "features" are impossible to understand without some kind of expert guidance.

Henry H

The folks at Microtek got me started but couldn't finish the job so I talked to Microsoft Support and that told me to buy a new scanner.  Then, I started searching for "32 bit programs on windows 10 64 bit" and I came up with the answer.  It took me about two weeks, off and on, and lots of restarts.  I wanted to keep my scanner because it has CCD and the newer scanners use CIS.  Look it up.  lol
Title: Re: Legacy 32 Bit with Windows 10 64 Bit
Post by: Jeffin90620 on June 07, 2019, 03:12:06 PM
Thanks for the tip, John. Those "features" are impossible to understand without some kind of expert guidance.

Seems that anything that takes longer than 5 seconds to boot (Windows, TurboCAD, etc.) needs a robust user group forum to collate information and tips.


Jeff
Title: Re: Legacy 32 Bit with Windows 10 64 Bit
Post by: John B. on January 02, 2020, 01:23:20 PM
An UPDATE.  The scanner stopped working and I cannot get it to work on Windows 10 anymore.  I still have my old Windows XP computer and it works OK there.
See the other related post:  "Legacy 32 Bit with Windows 10 64 Bit - Redo "

John B.
Title: Re: Legacy 32 Bit with Windows 10 64 Bit
Post by: Henry Hubich on January 02, 2020, 01:31:41 PM
An UPDATE.  The scanner stopped working and I cannot get it to work on Windows 10 anymore.  I still have my old Windows XP computer and it works OK there.
See the other related post:  "Legacy 32 Bit with Windows 10 64 Bit - Redo "

John B.

Did the scanner ever work with Win10? My old Epson worked great with XP but Epson won't provide a Win10 driver. I did find a driver that works well but it wasn't free. (Not unreasonable, though.)

Henry H
Title: Re: Legacy 32 Bit with Windows 10 64 Bit
Post by: John B. on January 02, 2020, 02:23:00 PM
Did the scanner ever work with Win10?

My scanner WAS working with Windows 10 64bit and then it stopped.  I can't remember if VueScan was too expensive or it didn't work but I did try it.  I'm content with having a second computer working.  I can save it and copy to a disc.

John B.

EDIT***  I just got back an email from VueScan and they do not support Microtek Scanmaker 4900.  That's mine.  I think that's why I pursued other avenues.
Title: Re: Legacy 32 Bit with Windows 10 64 Bit
Post by: Tim Stewart on January 03, 2020, 12:21:56 AM
I use an Epson perfection 1240u with Win 10, which is still working fine.
If anyone is interested, I still have the drivers and installation technique, on how to get it working.

Usually, it's just a matter of perseverance.  :)

Regards Tim
Title: Re: Legacy 32 Bit with Windows 10 64 Bit
Post by: John B. on January 03, 2020, 08:12:19 AM
I sometimes think there is a conspiracy somewhere because after I had my scanner running on W10 I told that to the people at Microtek and soon after it stopped working.  Curious.

John B.