TurboCAD Forums

Turbo Talk => General Discussion => Topic started by: Frank Zangari ASID on January 29, 2019, 11:55:17 AM

Title: how to dimension a curve?
Post by: Frank Zangari ASID on January 29, 2019, 11:55:17 AM
how do I  dimension a curve? I a have drawn a raised panel in 4 sections along a curve. How do I dimension it.?  I am using Tcad 16.2

Frank
Title: Re: how to dimension a curve?
Post by: murray dickinson on January 29, 2019, 12:34:16 PM
When you draw a curve, you're lofting it in 2D through either interpolated points like a Bezier or control points like a spline.   Most practical way is to dimension interpolated points at important stations along the curve and leave lofting the curve to the makers who're going to be reading the drawing and implementing it, which is how sailmakers and hull builders used to do it before there was CAD lofting.   They used to lay flexible strips of wood, splines, between weights called ducks, that held them in place at dimensioned points to lay out fabric for sails and to draw the curves of the hull stations.   
Title: Re: how to dimension a curve?
Post by: dbottesi on January 29, 2019, 12:38:10 PM
Here's one way that might help..I'm sure there's a better way though..go-to toolss, inquiry, curve length..then copy text from measurement info pallet.

The tool will allow you to subdivide if needed through control points
Title: Re: how to dimension a curve?
Post by: dbottesi on January 29, 2019, 12:40:51 PM
Pic of