TurboCAD Forums

Turbo Talk => General Discussion => Topic started by: Frederick Lm on January 20, 2019, 04:54:55 AM

Title: Extrude region
Post by: Frederick Lm on January 20, 2019, 04:54:55 AM
How to extrude the region which is intersect of rectangle and the circle? Is it possible to select boundary instead of select object?
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Torfinn on January 20, 2019, 05:52:00 AM
Select the Region and Explode ( alt + shift + e ) 1 time, then it will become a Polyline that you can Extrude, Sweep or give a Thickness.

Torfinn
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Jeffin90620 on January 20, 2019, 05:55:38 AM
Use 2D Intersect to create the area you want to extrude.  You won't be able to extrude it as is because it's a Region (a TurboCAD object better suited for 2D work).

Select the Region and Explode it (usually found under the Format menu), then select the Simple Extrude command (I have mine under the Insert / 3D Object menu, but your Workspace may place it elsewhere).  Make sure to activate the Use Compound Profile option first, then select the object and extrude to your heart's content.


Jeff
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: nikkipollard on January 20, 2019, 05:59:11 AM
You can also ""define" boundary using the pick point hatch tool and extrude that.
 although arcs become faceted.
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Frederick Lm on January 20, 2019, 06:48:17 AM
I found Quick Pull seems meet my need, but it only works on solids, not 2D profile.
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Frederick Lm on January 20, 2019, 07:03:37 AM
Use 2D Intersect to create the area you want to extrude.  You won't be able to extrude it as is because it's a Region (a TurboCAD object better suited for 2D work).

Select the Region and Explode it (usually found under the Format menu), then select the Simple Extrude command (I have mine under the Insert / 3D Object menu, but your Workspace may place it elsewhere).  Make sure to activate the Use Compound Profile option first, then select the object and extrude to your heart's content.

Jeff

I tried it but 2D intersect will delete the original sketches, which is not what I want.

I watched this but cannot do it easily in TC.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcQRDKHOStA&feature=youtu.be&t=70
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Dean on January 20, 2019, 08:35:22 AM
I can extrude a region when >use compound profile< is Off
OR
I can add thickness to a region
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Frederick Lm on January 20, 2019, 09:01:46 AM
I can extrude a region when >use compound profile< is Off
OR
I can add thickness to a region

Could you tell the steps to extrude a region? I set "Use Compound Profile" off but I cannot select the region.
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Henry Hubich on January 20, 2019, 09:24:36 AM
I can extrude a region when >use compound profile< is Off
OR
I can add thickness to a region

Could you tell the steps to extrude a region? I set "Use Compound Profile" off but I cannot select the region.

A Region cannot be extruded; you must explode it first, by selecting it and then pressing Alt+Shift+E.

My bad. You can extrude a Region.

Henry H
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Dean on January 20, 2019, 09:43:09 AM
I can extrude a region when >use compound profile< is Off
OR
I can add thickness to a region

Could you tell the steps to extrude a region? I set "Use Compound Profile" off but I cannot select the region.

See attached video >
I can also set the region's thickness via its properties
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Andy H on January 20, 2019, 10:00:03 AM
I watched this but cannot do it easily in TC.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcQRDKHOStA&feature=youtu.be&t=70

In case you were wondering.  Looking at the video,  TC does not have that kind of 'one step' 3D creation from just 2d drawn intersecting objects.  On can still accomplish the tasks using what people have described above, but its a 2 or 3 step operation.  like first creating region then the 3d, or hatch and then 3d..  its just the way TC works. 
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: murray dickinson on January 20, 2019, 11:58:21 AM
Extrude the 2D figures and 3D intersect the extrusions.  No exploding, updating the profiles updates the intersection.  Why not work with TC's capabilities instead of complaining that it doesn't work the way you think it should? 
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Jeffin90620 on January 20, 2019, 06:00:10 PM
Use 2D Intersect to create the area you want to extrude.  You won't be able to extrude it as is because it's a Region (a TurboCAD object better suited for 2D work).

Select the Region and Explode it (usually found under the Format menu), then select the Simple Extrude command (I have mine under the Insert / 3D Object menu, but your Workspace may place it elsewhere).  Make sure to activate the Use Compound Profile option first, then select the object and extrude to your heart's content.

I tried it but 2D intersect will delete the original sketches, which is not what I want.

I watched this but cannot do it easily in TC.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcQRDKHOStA&feature=youtu.be&t=70

BricsCad was written to work differently than TurboCAD, so you cannot duplicate what you saw in that video.

Back to the original problem, the 2D Intersect function does not have the option to keep the original, so it is best to select the two objects and Copy in Place before intersecting them.  Then, invoke the Simple Extrude function and make sure that the Use compound profile switch is not active.  You will then be able to extrude the intersection.


Jeff
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: murray dickinson on January 20, 2019, 08:38:05 PM
You CAN work in a similar fashion to the video if you draw your profiles on a surface or the face of a solid and use Quick Pull on them.  Quick Pull recognises regions, and the elements of the profiles don't even have to meet exactly, so long as they overlap.  Quick Pull only acts on one region at one time, but you can snap to an edge or vertex of the first Pull to match a subsequent Pull to its height, and when that's done the two Pulls are contiguous and their top surface amalgamates into one.  The profile elements can be lines, arcs or curves, so long as they overlap and share the workplane they don't have to be associated in any way or exploded.    When you've got your extrusion, the base surface or solid can be pulled away from it and will disappear. 
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Frederick Lm on January 21, 2019, 12:34:26 AM
Thanks all for respond, I am also think using copy to retain the original, but that involve additional steps.

I have tried Quick Pull on solid face, will try it on surface.

I think it will be good if TC recognize boundary of 2D objects. Just a wish.
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: murray dickinson on January 21, 2019, 05:39:31 PM
Extrude the shapes then boolean the extrusions.  The  minimum of steps, the profiles remain... 
That being said, there's a good suggestion for an improvement here: ATM, extruding using compound profile, TC detects island profiles and cuts them out of the extrusion, if profiles intersect/overlap, TC adds them as a contiguous extrusion.  It would be convenient extruding if, when the profiles intersect, you could specify that the extrusion should be addition, subtraction, or intersection between them.   I suggest that, as you hold the shift addition and select the additional profile(s), the choice be offered as a pop-up, like a tool tip. 
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Frederick Lm on January 21, 2019, 07:12:58 PM
I guess it will be harder to implement in TC to detect 2D region for Quick Pull like BricsCAD. In TC if I modify the 2D profile, the extruded solid will also follow. In BricsCAD there is no history so the result solid will not affect after change the profile.
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Dean on January 23, 2019, 09:13:45 AM
I guess it will be harder to implement in TC to detect 2D region for Quick Pull like BricsCAD. In TC if I modify the 2D profile, the extruded solid will also follow. In BricsCAD there is no history so the result solid will not affect after change the profile.

See attached video
does this help.
I used SEKE's  :)
copy in place
create surface from profile
quickpull

it took seconds..

though I always tend to use old school methods of converting 2d to 3d.
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Jeffin90620 on January 23, 2019, 04:06:58 PM
I used SEKE's  :)
copy in place
create surface from profile
quickpull

though I always tend to use old school methods of converting 2d to 3d.

Didn't understand why Copy in place was necessary, but it didn't work without it.

As for the "old school methods", I had pretty much given up on the Format / Create Surface/Solid from... commands because they were usually ghosted.


Jeff
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: nikkipollard on January 24, 2019, 01:11:34 AM
I don't think it would be that difficult for TC to implement this. It is a matter of detecting a boundary - like pick point hatch - and extruding that boundary.
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Frederick Lm on January 31, 2019, 03:18:16 AM
I found another CAD has pushpull bounded area feature. Please implement this in TC.
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: murray dickinson on January 31, 2019, 03:28:59 AM
It's called "Quick Pull" in TC.  I explained it to you above.   Quick Pull pushes and pulls cylindrical diameters too, and regions drawn on faces.   
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Jeffin90620 on January 31, 2019, 03:37:05 AM
I found another CAD has pushpull bounded area feature. Please implement this in TC.

It's been available for a few years.  Use the Simple Extrude command.  Please note that, depending on how you create the shapes to be extruded to 3D, they may have to be Exploded.  Simple Extrude will not work on a Region (created when two 2D objects are Added or Subtracted), but if you Explode it, the resulting Arcs and Polylines can be extruded.


Jeff
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Frederick Lm on January 31, 2019, 04:14:55 AM
How did you select the cut-out part of the rectangle?
Title: Re: Extrude region
Post by: Jeffin90620 on January 31, 2019, 11:18:47 AM
We created the rectangular portion differently.  You have an open object (a Polyline with 4 points, but two of them only have one line segment connecting to it).

I created a Rectangle and two Circles, then 2D Subtracted the larger circle from the rectangle.  I had to then Explode the resulting Region (ending up with Polylines and Arcs).

The simplest thing for you to do is add an Arc using the Arc / Start - End - Included mode and Q-Snap it to the top, bottom and right quarter points of the larger circle.  With the Use compound profile option active (as it is in this file), the Simple Extrude command will automatically include the sequence of Polylines and Arcs resulting in a solid object.


Jeff