TurboCAD Forums

Turbo Talk => General Discussion => Topic started by: skeeter_ca on October 01, 2018, 12:23:27 PM

Title: 1 entity on 2 layers?
Post by: skeeter_ca on October 01, 2018, 12:23:27 PM
Is it possible to put the same entity or object on two different layers? I am doing a remodel and would like certain things to show up on two different layers(before and after remodeled area) without just duplicating them . Seems like it would be simpler.

Darrell

Using TC 21 pro
Title: Re: 1 entity on 2 layers?
Post by: Torfinn on October 01, 2018, 01:39:13 PM
Nope

What you really should take a look at is the Category, you will find it in the bottom of the Design Director Pallete
Ther you can add different Object and then hide them, even if they are on the same layer as somthing you would like to see.

Torfinn
Title: Re: 1 entity on 2 layers?
Post by: John R on October 01, 2018, 01:43:36 PM
Why not put those objects on a separate Layer that will be used in both the Before and After areas. Only the objects on the Before or After layers will be turned off.

"Before" layer
"Static" layer (items that won't be changed)
"After" layer
Title: Re: 1 entity on 2 layers?
Post by: skeeter_ca on October 01, 2018, 01:53:52 PM
I was hoping to not add another layer for the fixed items that don't change but that does seem like the logical choice.

Darrell

Using TC 21 Pro
Title: Re: 1 entity on 2 layers?
Post by: Jeffin90620 on October 02, 2018, 05:31:38 AM
I have had selected objects at least appear to be on two separate Layers (that's what the check mark tells us).

There have been two ways for this to happen that I have noticed.  One is when TurboCAD's internal bookkeeping is munged; the solution is to save, close and re-open the file (if that doesn't work, then the Built-In Folder has to be deleted).  The other is when the object has been Grouped or Blocked and the component items were on different Layers when that happened.  I try to make sure that doesn't happen my moving all objects to Layer 0 before Grouping them or making a Block item.


Jeff
Title: Re: 1 entity on 2 layers?
Post by: dbottesi on October 02, 2018, 07:05:58 AM
A group can be on a layer..and each object within that group can have it's own layer as well .it's one way of having two layers within an object.. say I have a set of steps one layer for deck boards one for stringers.. group those and set it as steps layer..I can turn of grouped layer or each of those individually