TurboCAD Forums

Plug-In Palace => Animation Lab => Topic started by: Tim Stewart on December 18, 2017, 08:07:20 AM

Title: Key Frames Editor broken
Post by: Tim Stewart on December 18, 2017, 08:07:20 AM
Playing with Animationlab, I find that the key frames editor is not working as it should.
See the following link:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZP__DqVYk4&t=5s

Would someone please confirm this?
Thanks.

Regards Tim
Title: Re: Key Frames Editor broken
Post by: Darryl W on December 18, 2017, 01:14:55 PM
Tim understand what your doing but what is anilab not doing correctly?
Title: Re: Key Frames Editor broken
Post by: Andy H on December 18, 2017, 01:49:28 PM
Tim. 

I don't usually use the key frame play buttons, but for me its doing what I'd expect, there is no key frame in position '0' so AL has no reference recorded there for any of the objects, I guess it would be ideal for the button to go to the first key frame of the selection,  but as I say not something I usually use so don't know if it used to do it.
 
Title: Re: Key Frames Editor broken
Post by: Tim Stewart on December 19, 2017, 04:04:09 AM
Hi guys,

thanks for looking.

The animation play buttons, in the Key Frames Editor, gives the user/s a choice to move backwards and forwards, one frame at a time for the chosen/highlighted actor/s, and, the choice to fast forward to the last frame, or fast backwards/rewind to the first frame, regardless.

On each occasion, the actors in model space should move in accordance with the highlighted position shown in the Key Frames Editor when in play mode.

This all works fine, for me, except when choosing Rewind To Start.
This shows actor/s returning to the first frame in the Key Frames Editor but does not move the actor/s back to the start position in model space.
Only winding back one frame-at-a-time works, as I tried to show in the above YouTube video.

I should add, that Rewind To Start does work, for those chosen actor/s having a key frame at the start frame.
To my mind, Model Space should mirror positions shown in the Key Frames Editor when in play mode, whether going forwards to the end, or backwards to the first frame..

Having managed for many years without noticing this, perhaps it's too late to get it changed?
Is it better left alone?


Regards Tim

Title: Re: Key Frames Editor broken
Post by: Darryl W on May 15, 2019, 02:57:42 PM
Im gunna be using keyframes a heck of lot in my animations, can anyone confirm if this has been fixed in the 5.2 beta under testing?
Title: Re: Key Frames Editor broken
Post by: Andy H on May 15, 2019, 03:42:11 PM
Im gunna be using keyframes a heck of lot in my animations, can anyone confirm if this has been fixed in the 5.2 beta under testing?

No.  And I doubt the programmers even know it may be a problem. 

But to be honest,   As with Tim's comment "Having managed for many years without noticing this, perhaps it's too late to get it changed?". It has never caused me any problems.  If there are quite a few actors, and lots of keyframes starting in different positions, (which may be fiddly to reset).  I simply record a single keyframe for every actor at frame '0'.  The I copy and paste the recorded keyframe to whatever keyframe I want the actor to start moving or whatever. 

That way,  I can either select column '0' and use show frame. or use the rewind to start button. irrespective of which key frame the actor actually starts moving from.