TurboCAD Forums

Plug-In Palace => Animation Lab => Topic started by: Andy H on March 17, 2015, 12:11:47 PM

Title: AL and TC 2015
Post by: Andy H on March 17, 2015, 12:11:47 PM
HI all,

I just wondered if anyone has tried AL with TC 2015 yet, I wondered if there was any speed increase as I've read people reporting TC 2015 uses more of the CPU cores that v21
Title: Re: AL and TC 2015
Post by: Tim Stewart on March 17, 2015, 02:10:59 PM
Hi Andy,

has there been a build released, which works with v22 (2015)?

Regards Tim
Title: Re: AL and TC 2015
Post by: Andy H on March 17, 2015, 03:29:33 PM
Not sure about release Tim,

I E-mails IMSI to see if AL will be made to work with 2015, in case the removal of Lightworks affected any of the AL code - for example the material or change material commands, I got reply from Bob Mayer saying AL works with 2015 but Bob didn't say if a patch (as usual) was needed or not.

Title: Re: AL and TC 2015
Post by: Tim Stewart on March 18, 2015, 06:47:50 AM
Andy,

I've tried v5 64-bit with both tc v21 and v22 and neither have been satisfactory, for whatever reason.  :(
I am happy to use Anilab 32-bit with TC v19.
At the present time I cannot find the enthusiasm for resolving any issues, again!

If a new build arrives, I'll give it a go.

Regards Tim
Title: Re: AL and TC 2015
Post by: Henry Hubich on March 26, 2015, 07:27:12 PM
I cannot run Anilab5 in WinXP.

Henry H
Title: Re: AL and TC 2015
Post by: Tim Stewart on March 27, 2015, 01:48:59 AM
I cannot run Anilab5 in WinXP.

Henry H

Hi Henry,

confirmed.  Have you tried with earlier versions?  v19 works for me and probably v20 would too, but I don't have v20 installed.

Under v21/v22 Anilab simply crashes TC under XP.   Time for a new OS?  :(

Regards Tim
Title: Re: AL and TC 2015
Post by: TravisFleenor on March 27, 2015, 07:55:21 AM
AniLab 32 and 64 bit for 2015.

http://downloads.imsidesign.com/TC2015/AnimationLab_x86.exe
http://downloads.imsidesign.com/TC2015/AnimationLab_x64.exe
Title: Re: AL and TC 2015
Post by: Andy H on March 27, 2015, 08:27:27 AM
AniLab 32 and 64 bit for 2015.

Thanks for posting the files Travis, now I just gotta decide whether I really fancy upgrading to 2015 without lightworks.

I've tried v5 64-bit with both tc v21 and v22 and neither have been satisfactory, for whatever reason.  :(

The main things I found a bit 'iffy' using 64 bit are montage centre which I don't use because it crashes too easily, and constraints which seemed hit-and-miss whether they worked without crashing, other than that I haven't really had a problem with 64 bit (and use windows 8.1). 
Title: Re: AL and TC 2015
Post by: TravisFleenor on March 27, 2015, 08:53:58 AM
Keep in mind when you upgrade there will be a one time offer to get the Lightworks plug-in at half price. ($100 for pro)
Title: Re: AL and TC 2015
Post by: Tim Stewart on March 27, 2015, 02:01:48 PM
Thanks for the files Travis, but, as expected, Animation Lab doesn't work under XP.
However, so far it hasn't crashed, but shows a corrupted palette (see below).
It now not longer works with v19.2.

So, for using v19.2 under XP, I will need to reinstall older build.

As Andy mentioned, 64-bit build appears to work with WIN 8.1.  :)

I'm not sure if any of this helps Henry?

Regards Tim
Title: Re: AL and TC 2015
Post by: Henry Hubich on March 28, 2015, 02:46:30 PM
Thanks for the files Travis, but, as expected, Animation Lab doesn't work under XP.
However, so far it hasn't crashed, but shows a corrupted palette (see below).
It now not longer works with v19.2.

So, for using v19.2 under XP, I will need to reinstall older build.

As Andy mentioned, 64-bit build appears to work with WIN 8.1.  :)

I'm not sure if any of this helps Henry?

Regards Tim

I had exactly the same problem, Tim. Was able to install a v4 version of Anilab, and I run it in v20.2 Pro. Works best if I hide all other palettes before making the Anilab palette visible, because the latter doesn't play well with other palettes. That problem has been around ever since I started using Anilab, many versions ago.

Henry H
Title: Re: AL and TC 2015
Post by: Tim Stewart on March 28, 2015, 03:31:37 PM
Hi Henry,

yes, some of these problems are a bit inconsistently weird, if that makes sense.  ???
I am able to run a early v5 build of Anilab with v19.2 Pro, so I would guess this will work with v20.2 Pro.
Anilab v5 does give more functionality, which may be of use to you?

Regards Tim
Title: Re: AL and TC 2015
Post by: Henry Hubich on March 28, 2015, 06:18:34 PM
Hi Henry,

yes, some of these problems are a bit inconsistently weird, if that makes sense.  ???
I am able to run a early v5 build of Anilab with v19.2 Pro, so I would guess this will work with v20.2 Pro.
Anilab v5 does give more functionality, which may be of use to you?

Regards Tim

How early, Tim? Do you have a date?

Henry H
Title: Re: AL and TC 2015
Post by: Tim Stewart on March 29, 2015, 01:52:41 AM

The Anilab v5 binary date is shown as 28/02/2011 (file version 4.1.100.1332)

I could post version, via Dropbox, if you cannot locate the installation executable.

Regards Tim
Title: Re: AL and TC 2015
Post by: Henry Hubich on March 29, 2015, 08:28:35 AM

The Anilab v5 binary date is shown as 28/02/2011 (file version 4.1.100.1332)

I could post version, via Dropbox, if you cannot locate the installation executable.

Regards Tim

Thanks, Tim; much appreciated. I have a version that seems to be just a few days older than that one, and my next-newest is about a year newer. Maybe I'll give the older one a shot, but at the moment I'm kinda tired of fiddling around.

Henry H
Title: Re: AL and TC 2015
Post by: Tim Stewart on March 29, 2015, 11:35:06 AM

but at the moment I'm kinda tired of fiddling around.

Henry H

 ::) yes, I know the feeling . . .

Regards Tim