TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

All posts discussing pricing or where to buy TurboCAD will be deleted.

RANT
Read 5761 times
* August 02, 2009, 11:56:32 AM
 >:(
I am the proud owner of TCC Version 3.5
 I bought my original TCC for TC 14Pro and have since re-installed it into TC16Pro
TCC has not been upgraded or improved at all during this time.  Although it works, it has glaring problems that have never been addressed.  I use many work-arounds.
I can only assume that IMSI isn't really supporting this plug-in anymore because low priorities, low interest, low customer base etc.
Since I am a woodworker with a large CNC machine, my interest is in cutting and engraving wood, MDF etc. for cabinets, furniture etc. TCC is basically for machining metal things.

I am interested in 3D CAM--- something TCC obviously can't do.  I an not that interested in purchasing Vetric's Aspire because of the price.

My questions are:
1)  What is the difference between DesignCad19and TC16? 
2)  Is DC19 just a crippled version of TC16?  I have seen the advertisments for DesignCad and it's "features" etc, but nowhere on the IMSI site do I see a comparison between these two products ... or any other similar products that IMSI offers.  I am asking this question because ContourCam has a plug-in for DesignCad 16-19 that they say does 3D for $99.00.    http://www.contourcam.com/usa/default.asp 

3)  Has anyone tried the plug-in from ContourCam?

Lastly, many cabinet makers and assemblers use ECabinet from Thermwood because it's free, powerful, easy to use and you can send data to someone that has a Thermwood CNC machine to get your things cut.  Thermwood has an extension of .TWD.  This free Ecabinet program will not output any .DXF files.
They recently made it available to ShopBot owners to integrate it into their Partsworks files.
4)  Does IMSI have any plans to read this format?

Thanks

August 02, 2009, 03:06:56 PM