TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

Remember to do a search before you ask a question!!!

Grid Moves
Read 2402 times
* September 27, 2010, 10:52:25 PM
I am very new to Turbocad. I am using it to edit electrical schematics. When I copy an object from one page and paste it on another, its refreance point is wrong. None the less, When I click on that copied object the grid moves to it. The original items on the same drawing are no longer in alignment with the grid.
How do I keep the original drawing in alignment with the grid and move the pasted objects to snap to the same grid?

Hope this makes sense

September 28, 2010, 01:42:43 AM
I'm an electronic engineer and I use a schematic capture program for my schematics; can't really see how TC would be of any use.

Anyways... when you select everything, press the 'D' key to allow you re-specify the local origin for the current selection.  Move the cursor to a good point and snap the reference point to it (the 'V' snap will probably be the easiest one to use).

You might want to Group everything before re-specifying the origin, copying and pasting.  It will make the re-specified Reference Point much "stickier".

Oh, yeah... Copy and Paste will only work in Wireframe mode.  If you have Hidden Line or any other rendering mode selected, C&P will fail.

Jeff

TC Pro Platinum 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016 & 2015 (all with LightWorks & RedSDK) & V21
System: i7-5820K @ 3.30GHz, ASRock X99 Extreme4, 16GB DDR4-2133 RAM, Gigabyte GTX 970, Samsung NVMe SSD 950 (256GB), Windows 7 Pro (64-bit) SP1

* September 28, 2010, 03:39:21 AM
re: When I click on that copied object the grid moves to it.

This usually means the selected 2D object is on a different workplane from the other 2D objects.

If everything is 2D,
Select All,
Workspace / Workplane / By World (Ctrl+Alt+W),
Format / Place on Workplane (Shift+Alt+W).