TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

Remember to do a search before you ask a question!!!

database issue
Read 1086 times
* September 26, 2018, 05:06:04 PM
I'm new to the database feature.
I create the fields I want to use  (part number, assembly, vendor, etc), then I attach the fields to the custom properties of a block and fill in the appropriate values.
When I insert the block the custom properties are blank.
When I edit content (from the blocks toolbar), the custom properties are there.
If I attach custom properties to the block I've just inserted, I can copy the block w/o losing the properties.
I'm sure I'm missing something...
Can anyone tell me what box needs to be checked so the custom properties follow the block when I insert it?
(I played with block attributes, checking "constant", for example, so I'm assuming there might be a similar switch for custom properties).

Pro 11.2
Pro Platinum 2017 64
I7 3770 3.4gHz 8gB

* September 26, 2018, 10:21:37 PM
For blocks I prefer to use block attributes. They work the way I think you want custom properties to work.
 i.e.: They stay there.
  https://turbocaddoc.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/TG/pages/174692310/Block+Attributes

You may also want to look at the Database connection palette for a more efficient way to add work with both types of data
 It can save lots of time.
some advantages:
Custom properties and Block attributes can be changed for multiple items at once.
You would  also have predefined lists - which you add to as you need them.

https://turbocaddoc.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/T2UG/pages/100925695/Database+Connection+Palette

« Last Edit: September 26, 2018, 10:48:50 PM by nikkipollard »

Nikki
TC20 platinum
TC 2015 platinum
TC 2017 with lightworks

* September 27, 2018, 06:38:38 AM
Thank you, Nikki, for the response.
Disappointed that there is apparently no 'switch' to make custom properties 'stay there' when I insert a block.