TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

The purpose of these forums is to discuss TurboCAD.  Please keep the discussion of other products to compatibility issues or how the other software’s can be used with TurboCAD.

Tracing a JPEG
Read 2191 times
* December 28, 2017, 08:31:50 AM
I am new to TC and CAD in general. I have the blueprints from a object that I would like to trace then convert to 3D and 3D print. I have the free version of TC deluxe 2017 64 bit. I am more than willing to buy this if I can achieve my goal. I have scanned the 2d print into a jpeg and pulled it into TC. I am trying to learn TC and find the tracing function.

Any help with Tracing and converting to 3D would be appreciated.

* December 28, 2017, 09:45:33 AM
Welcome

The trace option is only available in the 32 bit versions of TC, it never got translated to 64 bit,  BUT I don't have 32 bit 2017 installed so I don't know if its still there or not.

Personally I never found it suitable for accurate tracing,  Most people I believe just draw over their plans using lines polylines, splines etc.  however Deluxe does not have the necessary tools to create a 3D object from just lines and splines, for creating a solid type of object in deluxe  (called TC surface) polylines and splines need to be closed, i.e. no open ends.

If you can please post a small picture of the type of thing you are wishing to do there are many people here who I'm sure can advise you,  TC is versatile from drawing a nut and bolt, to drawing a house so a small picture of the plan and / or finished item is preferable.

Andy
« Last Edit: December 28, 2017, 10:33:18 AM by Andy H »

* December 28, 2017, 10:38:41 AM