TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

Interested in some really terrific mobile apps? Visit www.turboapps.com for details.

Requesting Advice on Mass File Translation
Read 500 times
* June 03, 2017, 01:50:32 PM
Hi all,

I have a file structure with many, many nested folders containing about 10 years worth of drawings, mostly in .tcw format.

My end goal is to keep the file structure and somehow end up with all the .tcw files, plus their .dwg translations, in the existing folders.

I have used the turbocad batch translate option, but that only works for one folder at a time, which would take quite a while.

I'm thinking it might be possible to copy all the .tcw's to one folder, somehow keeping track of where they came from, translating everything with the batch translator, and finally copying everything back to the correct folders.

But I'm no programmer and don't know where to start.

Could this be accomplished with an MS-DOS batch file? Does anybody actually know how to use Ruby?  What would be involved in using VBA to do this (I have an employee with some VBA experience).

I would very much appreciate any suggestions, even if its just whether or not you think a certain approach can work.

Thanks,

JoeM

* June 03, 2017, 03:15:11 PM