TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

When replying to a specific statement be sure to quote the previous post.

CAD Primer Availability?
Read 1033 times
* January 19, 2017, 12:18:34 PM
Can anyone please recommend a proper text-book (not yet another useless video) that genuinely tells a complete beginner in CAD, but with a fair amount of engineering-drawing experience and general engineering knowledge, how to start to learn TurboCAD, please?

This is my second attempt at trying to learn any CAD software, as part of my hobby; and I am retired, not on a degree course teaching CAD formally! I tried TurboCAD last year but gave up because I could find nothing to tell me what things mean, and how to make even the most basic moves work. I was about to give the software away but thought I'd try again. (I've tried other CAD applications, but they were no better - some were worse.) So I assume you need a lot of basic, general CAD knowledge even before touching a CAD programme, so I am trying to find that knowledge.

TurboCAD offers aide-memoires for the very skilled. It offers what are probably just demonstration videos of what an expert can make TurboCAD do (if your computer can run them: mine merely demands I install Adobe's rubbish every time!). It has nothing to tell you how to make it do anything.

I know I am craving indulgence here on a forum by and for highly experienced TurboCAD users finding extremely abstruse problems with TurboCAD's most advanced features, (and a forum with the most bone-awkwardly obstructive registration routine I've met!), but still.....

So if anyone can give me the title, publisher etc of a proper CAD introductory text-book, preferably TurboCAD, I would be very grateful! 

I realise of course there may be no such book, in which case I am glad I have kept my manual drawing-board! 

January 19, 2017, 12:46:24 PM
Welcome NigelG,