TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

The purpose of these forums is to discuss TurboCAD.  Please keep the discussion of other products to compatibility issues or how the other software’s can be used with TurboCAD.

Simple Howto on making a design printable
Read 3059 times
* May 21, 2015, 01:45:01 PM
Hi,

I would like to use TurboCad  to make .stl files to be printed on my Rostock Max V2 Delta.

I tried making a very simple test design, consisting of a 1 in cube, with a .75 in cube subtracted from it aligned at the top surface, giving a cubic "cup, with .125 in walls and a .25 in thick base. It looked good in Turbocad and the vews showed it to be a hollowed cude.

Unfortunately, when I exported it to /stl and sliced it with Slic3r, I got a two layer high object. I suspect I need to tell Turbocad that the walls of the cube are solids,

Can someone point me to a source of information that will help? I am new to 3D drwaing in TurboCad, but have done some 2D work.

Thanks!

May 26, 2015, 12:45:06 AM
In TurboCAD, click to select the object, then bring up the Properties popup menu (Ctrl-F is the simplest way).

Click on the 3D tab on the left side of the popup.

At the top, you will see "Solid, TC Surface and SMesh" (no 'SMesh' if your version of TurboCAD is too old, and maybe no 'Solid' if it is the Deluxe version instead of Professional or Platinum).

If you only have the Deluxe version, then everything that looks solid will actually be hollow because it only works with TurboCAD Surfaces.

Let us know what version you have and we can advise you on how to get what you need.

Jeff

TC Pro Platinum 2017, 2016 & 2015 (all with LightWorks) & V21
System: i7-5820K @ 3.30GHz, ASRock X99 Extreme4, 16GB DDR4-2133 RAM, Gigabyte GTX 970, Samsung NVMe SSD 950 (256GB), Windows 7 Pro (64-bit) SP1

* May 27, 2015, 11:44:09 AM
Hi,

I am using Turbocad 20 Deluxe and considering buying Turbocad 2015 deluxe.