TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

All posts discussing pricing or where to buy TurboCAD will be deleted.

Programming TurboCAD with Visual Basic
Read 2044 times
* April 24, 2015, 04:33:36 AM
I have been asked to develop an application to automate the generation of CAD drawings using either TurboCad or Autocad. Visual Basic is the necessary choice for a programming language and I have a lot of experience using VBA. I have no experience using Visual Basic via an SDK which I believe is possible with TurboCad. And TurboCad is preferred by the customer over Autocad. In either case I would have to learn enough of either TurboCad or Autocad to perform the programming task. Either would involve a pretty steep learning curve but I do have a lot of drafting experience and have spent a little time with both systems. So I'm willing to tackle it.

Here is what I know (or at least think I know):

1. VBA is built into Autocad.
2. VBA may have been built into TurboCad at one time but is not available in the current version that I would be using
3. TurboCad has an SDK that would allow a Visual Basic development using a standalone version of VB.

What I would like to know is:

A. Are my assumptions correct?
B. Where is the documentation for VB via the SDK?
C. Is it practical to develop an application with TurboCad  + SDK + VB?

Thanks in advance from a forum newbie.
ip

* April 28, 2015, 10:50:00 AM
Hi IP
vba was supported in TC till version 11 (long long ago)
I still miss vba in TC see http://forums.turbocad.com/index.php/topic,16224.0.html
When you want to develop applications with vb you probably choose vb6 cause it is very similar to vba.
>>I have been asked to develop an application ..<<
that sounds to me that you are a professional. So you may know, that applications developed with VB6 are less compatible.
But for me it is still my best choice. I use TC2015-32 bit and vb6. Creating .exe and .dll.