TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

Interested in some really terrific mobile apps? Visit www.turboapps.com for details.

Can someone explain what this Help file entry means - giving a 2D object depth?
Read 5765 times
* January 20, 2015, 08:19:19 PM
I'm completely new to working with 3D in version 19 Pro. Could someone point me to a better understanding of the following statement from the Help file, because I can't seem to make it work. It says:

"An easy way to create a 3D object is to give depth to a 2D object. This is done by opening the Properties window of a 2D object (see Object Properties) to the 3D page, and entering a thickness."

and then the picture they show has a Properties dialog which has "3D" in the menu. No matter what I try, I can't seem to get "3D" to show up in the properties of a simple graphic to try this. All I ever see is 3 listings, General, Pen, and Custom. I've never seen more than that. How do I need to set things up to make this work, as I figure it is a matter of not having the program set to be able to utilize 3D. I tried the Toggle 2D/3D command, and tried several options in the Workspace/Workplane menu, but had no luck.

Normally I just draw 2D mechanical drawings, but I'd like to learn about 3D, and this above Help file statement seemed simple enough to try as a first step, if I could make it work.

* January 20, 2015, 11:43:42 PM
Just wondered if what you are trying to add thickness to is a group, in which case it doesn't show the 3D properties until you go into group edit mode.

Quickest way to check if 3D works, draw a single line, either right click and choose properties-3D-thickness , or look in the design director properties for 3D.

* January 21, 2015, 07:11:50 AM