TurboCAD Forums

The Ultimate Resource for TurboCAD Knowledge

Register

When replying to a specific statement be sure to quote the previous post.

Graphictype information
Read 2783 times
* August 14, 2014, 02:58:41 AM
I have used TC since version1 and am on V20 Plat.  (I am not a programmer but use VB in Excel, math software etc.)

Used many VB scripts in past to automate work but the TC model changed and most is not working in later versions of TC.  Currently Ruby is preferred and even this changed and scripts is not working in V20 as in V19.

Currently I am once again frustrated with the documentation of TC.

Can anyone help me with basic information to help me get going again on some scripts.

I would for a start know the following:
What graphictypes are available and how to use them.

How would I know that .add(11) add a new, empty polyline and for that matter a 3d one?

To help understand my question I refer to the sample script by Kevan Chapman to draw a 3d Polyline

# Written by Kevan Chapman for IMSIDesign, LLC.
# Script Version 20.0.1.0 Jan. 28, 2013

def draw3DPolyline
   tcApp = TCApplication
   tcActDwg = tcApp.ActiveDrawing
   tcActVw = tcActDwg.ActiveView
   tcGrs = tcActDwg.Graphics
  tcGr = tcGrs.Add(11) #add a new, empty polyline
  grVerts = tcGr.Vertices
  types = 0
  grVerts.Clear(types)
  grVerts.UseWorldCS = true
  grVerts.Add(12.5, 3.5, 0.0)
  grVerts.Add(12.5, 0.0, 0.0)
  grVerts.Add(24.5, 0.0, 0.0)
  grVerts.Add(24.5, 3.5, 0.0)
  grVerts.AddClose(true, true, true, true, true, false)
  tcGr.Draw

Does add.(11) always add a empty polyline?

Why does add(11,"TCW30Point") add a 3d point in the example from same author in TC20_ImportXYZPoints

#Create a new empty pointmark entity.
        tcGr = tcGrs.Add(11, "TCW30Point")

This cry for help is not for a lack of trying.  In the SDK documentation (IMSIGX.sch) one can find add options for various graphic types like: AddHatch, AddDimensionleader, .....Addsphere ... AddWedge but no 3dpolyline, etc.