TurboCAD Forums

Turbo Talk => Tips and Tricks => Topic started by: NeverStop on January 07, 2019, 06:08:53 AM

Title: Scaling in mm and/or part offset ?
Post by: NeverStop on January 07, 2019, 06:08:53 AM
Folks,

The attached parts I would like to size up by 0.1mm How can it be done ?
Is it any possibilities to offset the part ? Or other operation ?

Best regards
NeverStop
Title: Re: Scaling in mm and/or part offset ?
Post by: John R on January 07, 2019, 10:40:27 AM
I drew a 2D Profile of the object for Revolving and Offset (https://turbocaddoc.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/TG/pages/172066288/Offset) that profile.

I could also use the Facet Offset (https://turbocaddoc.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/TG/pages/174755649/Facet+Offset) tool.
Title: Re: Scaling in mm and/or part offset ?
Post by: Jeffin90620 on January 07, 2019, 06:55:54 PM
Alternatively, you could just select the object and adjust the Size X, Y (and, maybe) Z dimensions.

Because you have ACIS History enabled, you will get a warning.  You can ignore it for a simple case like this.


Jeff
Title: Re: Scaling in mm and/or part offset ?
Post by: Torfinn on January 08, 2019, 04:36:07 AM
If you make a Block out of it, it should be easy to scale i believe, and maybe use "Keep aspect ratio"

Torfinn
Title: Re: Scaling in mm and/or part offset ?
Post by: NeverStop on January 08, 2019, 06:05:24 AM
I drew a 2D Profile of the object for Revolving and Offset (https://turbocaddoc.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/TG/pages/172066288/Offset) that profile.

I could also use the Facet Offset (https://turbocaddoc.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/TG/pages/174755649/Facet+Offset) tool.

Thanks John,

This profile is simple and fast to redo and revolve. And I guess with revolve its easy to make an thin wallet profile ?

The facet offset is almost good ? See picture. This cylinder on top is not wanted.

Best regards
NeverStop
Title: Re: Scaling in mm and/or part offset ?
Post by: NeverStop on January 08, 2019, 06:08:03 AM
Alternatively, you could just select the object and adjust the Size X, Y (and, maybe) Z dimensions.

Because you have ACIS History enabled, you will get a warning.  You can ignore it for a simple case like this.


Jeff

Jeffin, I think this is what I looked for. I actually used "delta" and of course parts was just moved around.

However the parts looked different after in wiremesh? I wounder why. Just like it twisted ?
But in render its all good :-)

Any idea ?

 
Title: Re: Scaling in mm and/or part offset ?
Post by: NeverStop on January 08, 2019, 06:30:45 AM
If you make a Block out of it, it should be easy to scale i believe, and maybe use "Keep aspect ratio"

Torfinn

Hmm, could you explain little more ?
Title: Re: Scaling in mm and/or part offset ?
Post by: Torfinn on January 08, 2019, 06:57:54 AM
Just make the Object(s) to 1 Block and scale it, the factor in this case was 1,001640419947507 and i used Keep aspect ratio  so it did scale it that factor in all 3 direction, maybe you dont want the Z to scale ?
In Attached the red is a block

Torfinn
Title: Re: Scaling in mm and/or part offset ?
Post by: John R on January 08, 2019, 09:16:49 AM
This is the way I "Scaled" the part, which is similar to Torfinn's method.

I selected the part, activated "Keep Aspect Ratio", then Tabbed over to the Size X field and increased the size by 0.1mm. Enter. I got a message that this could affect the PartTree, but continued. The new part is just at the size specified. I didn't do anything with the Profile that was out of view.