TurboCAD Forums

Turbo Talk => Problems => Topic started by: IanC on December 18, 2018, 02:48:20 PM

Title: Getting rid of 'TurboPDF v3' flyer ?
Post by: IanC on December 18, 2018, 02:48:20 PM
I can't seem to stop IMSI trying to get me to buy TurboPDF v3 every time I start 2018 Platinum. Obviously I've checked "Don't Show Again", but this is ignored.

I did try editing TCWelcomeSplashTest.ini. Under [TCWelcomeTCPRF] there's an item DontShow=1 which I changed to zero, and felt sure I'd fixed it, but I hadn't  >:(

Anyone?
Title: Re: Getting rid of 'TurboPDF v3' flyer ?
Post by: Torfinn on December 18, 2018, 03:24:09 PM
Rename the file C:\Program Files\IMSIDesign\TCW2018\Program64\TcTools\TCWelcomeSplashTest.exe
to C:\Program Files\IMSIDesign\TCW2018\Program64\TcTools\TCWelcomeSplashTest.exe.OLD
or just simply delete it.
It will come back next time you update TC, but at least you know how to get rid of it again.

Torfinn
Title: Re: Getting rid of 'TurboPDF v3' flyer ?
Post by: IanC on December 18, 2018, 04:20:52 PM
Thanks, that did it! That's almost what I did initially, but it didn't work.

Renamed to OLD TCWelcomeSplashTest.exe which made a small browser window appear, but with an error as opposed to the TurboPDF message.
Title: Re: Getting rid of 'TurboPDF v3' flyer ?
Post by: William Bickers-Jones on December 20, 2018, 08:34:29 AM
Thanks for this!  I was getting utterly fed up with the splash screen every time I started TC2018 Deluxe, telling me I should upgrade to TC2018 Deluxe...  The "do not show again" tick box was plainly a sick joke at my expense, as it did not work.  However, doing the splash rename job seems to have fixed it, for now...

Now back to trying to work out why TC seems to print views at whatever random scale it fancies, rather than the scale I set it at...
Title: Re: Getting rid of 'TurboPDF v3' flyer ?
Post by: John B. on March 16, 2019, 11:33:04 PM
Renaming ".OLD" worked for me. TC 2018 ProPlat.  Good show!

John B.
Title: Re: Getting rid of 'TurboPDF v3' flyer ?
Post by: Cliff2 on March 17, 2019, 07:34:58 AM
Ian may I ask how you  got VBA installed and working on your computer?
Thanks.
Title: Re: Getting rid of 'TurboPDF v3' flyer ?
Post by: murray dickinson on March 17, 2019, 03:57:54 PM
There's a VBA dll present in very old versions of TC, prior to V10.5 from memory.  That can be placed in the program|draggers folder of versions up to V17, which enables VBA.  It doesn't do it in versions later than 17.
Title: Re: Getting rid of 'TurboPDF v3' flyer ?
Post by: Andy H on March 17, 2019, 05:12:53 PM
Ian may I ask how you  got VBA installed and working on your computer?
Thanks.


See this post (http://forums.turbocad.com/index.php/topic,23309.msg139458.html#msg139458).