TurboCAD Forums

Turbo Talk => General Discussion => Topic started by: GeoffW on August 30, 2018, 12:12:41 AM

Title: How identify blank layers
Post by: GeoffW on August 30, 2018, 12:12:41 AM
I have an AutoCad survey drawing successfully converted to TC 2017 format.   It contains 240 layers.   How can I identify and therefore remove the 100+ layers that contain no information because they are 'standard' layers which may be used by the surveyors in other jobs?
Title: Re: How identify blank layers
Post by: Torfinn on August 30, 2018, 12:19:59 AM
You could take a look at Purge
File/ Drawing Utilities >> Purge

Torfinn
Title: Re: How identify blank layers
Post by: GeoffW on August 30, 2018, 02:34:13 AM
Thank you Torfinn but you have exemplified one of my many frustrations with TC Help information.
Sure what you say is what the "Guide" says but my TC 2017 has NO "Drawing Utilities" as a sub-menu to "File".
Title: Re: How identify blank layers
Post by: nikkipollard on August 30, 2018, 03:00:55 AM
Which version are you using?
I think purge is only available in the platinum version.
If you don't have the platinum version I would simplify the drawing by
selecting everything -ctrl a
-ctrl c (copy)
start new blank drawing and paste the copied content into it.
-ctrl v
Only the layers, text syles etc  that are used will be copied.
Title: Re: How identify blank layers
Post by: Jeffin90620 on August 30, 2018, 04:37:47 AM
An easier way is to make every Layer visible, then Select All.  Every Layer with content will be highlighted in the Design Director.

I have never seen a way to invert the selection, but you can easily see which Layers are empty.


Jeff
Title: Re: How identify blank layers
Post by: GeoffW on August 30, 2018, 05:12:01 AM
I am grateful to you all.
Jeff, you are magnificent!     That works well.   My version is DELUXE only - couldn't afford Platinum.
Purely out of interest, do you know whether this method is contained any where in IMSI Guides?....and how might one search for it?
Title: Re: How identify blank layers
Post by: Torfinn on August 30, 2018, 05:17:15 AM
Then you have Designer or Deluxe, as Expert 2017 also have Purge.
Nikki's way of doing it is then the most easy way to do it, just make sure all layer's are ON

I dont see the problem with the Help, as it do tell you that it is for all the edition's and maybe not for your's, and you should check what is for your's edition.

Torfinn
Title: Re: How identify blank layers
Post by: murray dickinson on August 30, 2018, 02:48:51 PM
You can invert selections by zooming extents, press shift to add/subtract, and marquee fencing all entities.
Title: Re: How identify blank layers
Post by: GeoffW on August 30, 2018, 07:44:08 PM
Torfinn,     I am confused by your statement re Help.
If "it do tell you that it is for all the edition's" then what is the point of "maybe not for your's, and you should check what is for your's edition"?
Such statements are not logical.
Title: Re: How identify blank layers
Post by: Jeffin90620 on August 30, 2018, 10:01:54 PM
Jeff, you are magnificent!

Tell my girlfriend.  She could use reminding.  ;)


Purely out of interest, do you know whether this method is contained any where in IMSI Guides?....and how might one search for it?

No, but there's a lot of missing information in the documentation.  I have figured out two things by accident.  I've posted one in Tips and Tricks; the other in a couple days after I construct a video.


Jeff

Title: Re: How identify blank layers
Post by: Torfinn on August 31, 2018, 12:19:26 AM
Not for me :)
It's about what you want to understand/ accept

Torfinn