TurboCAD Forums

Turbo Talk => General Discussion => Topic started by: mikestimits on August 25, 2018, 02:25:10 AM

Title: How big can a turbocad pro plat 2018 drawing get
Post by: mikestimits on August 25, 2018, 02:25:10 AM
I have pro plat 2018 with 3.3 GHZ and 12 GB ram. My drawing is 9.95 Mb and I can't get my computer to work right any more. Is there a limit to how big a drawing can get?
Title: Re: How big can a turbocad pro plat 2018 drawing get
Post by: Torfinn on August 25, 2018, 03:50:45 AM
I guess there is, but you are very fare away from that with a 9.95 MB file.
My files generally become about 25-35 mb, a guy i know was normally about 50-100 mb.

So maybe there are something wrong within the file that make TC have problem or your pc dont like the file.

Torfinn
Title: Re: How big can a turbocad pro plat 2018 drawing get
Post by: Andy H on August 25, 2018, 03:56:27 AM
I cannot really comment on the GDI/Lightworks side of things,   I currently use 2018 with the RedSDK plug-in and my current drawing is 289MB (yep it really is that big and is starting to slow down just a bit).

What specifically is the problem. i.e.  What sort of drawing (all 2d or partly 3D).  Is it slow at moving things in render mode (this is normal for me in Lightworks).  Is wireframe OK, -  wireframe should be able to handle that file size without problem. are there any large (file size) images in the drawing.  using 3d, do you have many rendered viewports,  things like realistic bolts/threads, and springs can slow down TC quite a bit (on my computer).



Title: Re: How big can a turbocad pro plat 2018 drawing get
Post by: mikestimits on August 25, 2018, 06:10:07 AM
Thank you for the answers I am trying to make a V8 engine. I have lots of 3D and a lot of blocks and a lot of blocks in blocks.
Title: Re: How big can a turbocad pro plat 2018 drawing get
Post by: Jeffin90620 on August 28, 2018, 02:54:10 AM
I have files in the range of 100-200 MB, but I've noticed that, with 2018, it can be very slow to select or de-select an object (although I may be working with a defective file... have to do some experimenting).


Jeff
Title: Re: How big can a turbocad pro plat 2018 drawing get
Post by: mikestimits on September 14, 2018, 06:49:58 PM
I think 1 block got too big. I was assembling everything in 1 block. All the 2d and 3d. I was rotating all the 2d into 3d locations and putting in all the 3d also. mabe 1 block can only be so big.