TurboCAD Forums

Plug-In Palace => TurboCAD Civil and the Civil Design Suite => Topic started by: richardarbon22@gmail.com on March 18, 2018, 03:05:46 AM

Title: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: richardarbon22@gmail.com on March 18, 2018, 03:05:46 AM
Can Turbocad import Georeferenced imagery?

Turbocad 2017 and civil plugin trial -
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: jerry.simington on March 25, 2018, 12:33:17 PM
Yes.
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: richardarbon22@gmail.com on April 03, 2018, 02:29:18 AM
thanks,
can you give me some steps?
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: jerry.simington on April 04, 2018, 06:27:44 AM
My apologies but the functionality that was in ImportPoints does not appear to work any more. The "copy image" button is not activated when a geo-referenced image is loaded. I am working on a new version to fix this problem.

If you would explain to me exactly what you are trying to do then maybe I can still help you as well as guide me toward what features might be in the next version of ImportPoints.
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: jerry.simington on April 04, 2018, 06:30:07 AM
Import points was designed to support DEMs encoded into a GeoTIFF. Then you can use the "clip data" button.
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: richardarbon22@gmail.com on February 05, 2019, 01:06:45 AM
Hi,

Is the Geotiff import option available yet?
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: jerry.simington on February 11, 2019, 06:57:20 PM
It is getting there. But... It will not work for the current version. It will be in for the next version. I figured out why it was broken for the current version and I am working on it. I am testing with sample data that I have found but if you have a file I could test with it would really help. I can try to get you something working before the next release.
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: richardarbon22@gmail.com on April 08, 2019, 06:30:14 AM
i cant seem to load a geotiff to this forum
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: Torfinn on April 08, 2019, 06:39:57 AM
You could try to Zip it, but it cant be bigger than 4 Mb
Else, you can upload to Dropbox or similar and give the link for it here.

Torfinn
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: richardarbon22@gmail.com on April 10, 2019, 02:57:38 AM
https://www.dropbox.com/s/4mqsil1cd2buriq/model%20Wadeye.tif?dl=0
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: jerry.simington on April 10, 2019, 05:50:43 AM
Interesting picture but it does not appear to be terrain data.
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: richardarbon22@gmail.com on April 14, 2019, 02:57:35 AM
I believe this is a Tiff I created in Agisoft Metashape.  I was hoping that turbocad civil could open geotiff
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: jerry.simington on April 14, 2019, 02:00:41 PM
TurboCAD Civil supports a GeoTIFF files that contains a digital elevation model. This one is not that. You should be able to treat is any other image file. However it is large and only importpoints3 64bit can open it.
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: richardarbon22@gmail.com on May 05, 2019, 09:53:04 PM
Is there a version of this that I could get (import points 3)
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: jerry.simington on May 06, 2019, 08:04:39 AM
Do you have a digital elevation model DEM encoded into GeoTIFF?
GeoTIFFs are created differently with different creator applications so it would be good if I could test what you have first.
The new release should be out with version 2019 coming soon.
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: richardarbon22@gmail.com on May 12, 2019, 04:45:21 AM
Hi,

A freeware GIS software QGIS, can accept Geotiff very easily, and place them in a model at the gps coordinates. Will the 2019 release have this feature. Something perhaps comparable to the import option in civil 3d.
Title: Re: Import Points - Can this function import Geotiffs
Post by: jerry.simington on May 12, 2019, 10:20:43 AM
Yes. I am working on it as I type...