TurboCAD Forums

Turbo Talk => General Discussion => Topic started by: davedbk on October 29, 2009, 01:24:58 AM

Title: hidden 3D polylines... where, how?
Post by: davedbk on October 29, 2009, 01:24:58 AM
Hi,

I'm doing some haz. gas pipe runs for one of my clients. Working form old hard copy isometric drawings, I figured 3D polylines way the best way to get this done... e.g.

start point
tab
displacement x or y or z
tab
displacement x or y or z
tab
displacement x or y or z
tab
Alt-F

... until I go to hidden view and realise that the 3D polylines are not hiding behind columns, gear etc.

I cannot find any switch to make them hide.


Please reveal required switch or suggest other preferable method to getting these pipe centrelines in and hiding.

Thanks,

davek
Title: Re: hidden 3D polylines... where, how?
Post by: murray dickinson on October 29, 2009, 03:09:38 AM
View|Camera|Properties|Hidden Line.  Uncheck "nonrenderable objects".
Title: Re: hidden 3D polylines... where, how?
Post by: davedbk on October 29, 2009, 03:42:54 AM
That makes them disappear altogether... I still want to see them excpet when there running behind some 3D object.
Title: Re: hidden 3D polylines... where, how?
Post by: AE on October 29, 2009, 04:45:40 AM
.....maybe utilize Layers.
Title: Re: hidden 3D polylines... where, how?
Post by: Julian Thomas on October 29, 2009, 04:47:16 AM
A 3D polyline is still only a line, you'll need to create a 3D object from it before it acts as you require in hidden line or rendered views. Try using a profile sweep or use pipe tool.
Title: Re: hidden 3D polylines... where, how?
Post by: murray dickinson on October 29, 2009, 04:51:15 AM
Or give them a thickness in properties.
Title: Re: hidden 3D polylines... where, how?
Post by: Julian Thomas on October 29, 2009, 04:55:38 AM
Murray, I don't see how to apply thickness to 3D polyline
Title: Re: hidden 3D polylines... where, how?
Post by: murray dickinson on October 29, 2009, 05:32:28 AM
Brainfade, Julian.  It just occurred to me that they weren't closed.  Or 2D.
Title: Re: hidden 3D polylines... where, how?
Post by: Julian Thomas on October 29, 2009, 05:47:04 AM
I still see 3D polyline as a primitive/undeveloped tool as most of the 2D polyline options are unavailable, eg, you still can't apply thickess, you can't create or node edit an arc into it....
Title: Re: hidden 3D polylines... where, how?
Post by: davedbk on October 29, 2009, 06:47:06 AM
I agree with you Julian.

There's a mismatch. 3D polylines are the simplest lineform to work in 3D (along each of the three axes), but are missing the thickness property that enables a 2D line or polyline to hide like a solid.

I couldn't be the first to bring this up?
I suppose I add this to the wishlist.


... in the meantime, I suppose I go back to 'thick' 2D polyines and changing the UCS every couple of steps.

or

sweep a circle along the 3D polyline and switch the 3D polyline layer off at print time.

Any other suggestions?


Thanks,

davedbk