TurboCAD Forums

Turbo Talk => General Discussion => Topic started by: triplex on September 28, 2009, 01:07:30 PM

Title: Symbols - I Beams
Post by: triplex on September 28, 2009, 01:07:30 PM
Hi

Is there a METRIC beam profiler available ?

Tx
Title: Re: Symbols - I Beams
Post by: DTTurbocad on September 28, 2009, 02:02:33 PM
There are some Parametric Part under 2D Hardware/Beams/  profiles that ship with TC Pro.
Which are either Metric or Imperial depending on what your model space units are set to.

If you are meaning Beam Analysis the we have a plug in for that which is here.

http://www.idx-design.com/Products/IDXBeamAnalysisTool/tabid/281/Default.aspx (http://www.idx-design.com/Products/IDXBeamAnalysisTool/tabid/281/Default.aspx)


Title: Re: Symbols - I Beams
Post by: triplex on September 28, 2009, 02:26:15 PM
Hi Dave
In Metric setup, it stays Imperial though.

IDX - looks good - if they give a good discount I will buy it.

Triplex
Title: Re: Symbols - I Beams
Post by: DTTurbocad on September 28, 2009, 02:50:01 PM
Try starting with a metric template.

Title: Re: Symbols - I Beams
Post by: triplex on September 30, 2009, 09:39:43 AM
Hi Dave

Straight from the template - nothing do. Looks like TC slipped this one though, which is not so nice - fast and quick way down the drain.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: Symbols - I Beams
Post by: Stefaan on September 30, 2009, 10:36:48 AM
You're right triplex,
I use Engineering powertools  (free or unregistrated) conversion tool to calculate from Metric to Imperial.
The conversion tool is free for download @ http://www.pwr-tools.com/download.html

I hope this helps you a bit.
Title: Re: Symbols - I Beams
Post by: triplex on October 01, 2009, 04:51:47 AM
Stefaan

What I did see is that if you explode and then do the X, Y dimensions, it gets there some how.
Title: Re: Symbols - I Beams
Post by: Stefaan on October 01, 2009, 06:59:36 AM
Thanks triplex,

I didn't try that.