Author Topic: Can not open DWG  (Read 5403 times)

gabe williams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Can not open DWG
« on: May 11, 2009, 01:14:01 PM »
I just upgraded to version 16 build 34.4 and can no longer open the Autocad dwg's that I could previously open with version 15. Of course version 15 never opened them gracefully. Any suggestions

turbotech

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Postmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1165
    • TurboTECH
Re: Can not open DWG
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2009, 02:43:13 PM »
Other than a couple of missing xrefs the file opened up correctly.  Also opened up in trueview looked the same as TC. 

What is the error message you are receiving?
Rip Fowler
IMSIDesign LLC

John R

  • Beta Tester
  • Royal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9273
Re: Can not open DWG
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2009, 02:47:13 PM »
I just upgraded to version 16 build 34.4 and can no longer open the Autocad dwg's...

You should get V16 Pro Build 36.7, as your DWG file opened OK with that build.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2009, 03:16:54 PM by John R »
John R.

V17, V18, V19, V20, V21
Designer, Deluxe, Basic, Platinum
RedSDK enabled
Vista 64-bit SP2

turbotech

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Postmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1165
    • TurboTECH
Re: Can not open DWG
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2009, 02:53:10 PM »
You should get V16 Pro Build 36.7, as your DWG file opened OK with that.

Your probably right John.

Gabe,

Download this patch to update from 34.4 to 36.7

http://downloads.imsidesign.com/Updates/TurboCAD-Professional-16-01.exe
Rip Fowler
IMSIDesign LLC

gabe williams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Can not open DWG
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2009, 03:45:16 PM »
Got the patch but the machine still locked up. I've got all anti-virus killed, but I am running windows defender and spybot on a Vista machine.

turbotech

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Postmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1165
    • TurboTECH
Re: Can not open DWG
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2009, 04:14:04 PM »
UAC may have interfered with your installation of TC.

Remove Turbocad using the programs and features control panel.

Turn off user account control in your user accounts control panel.

Restart your machine.

Re-install TurboCAD from the following link.

http://support.turbocad.com/dl/downloads/TurboCAD-Pro-16.exe



Rip Fowler
IMSIDesign LLC

gabe williams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Can not open DWG
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2009, 07:32:13 AM »
Rip,

The UAC was turned off from the previous installation. I did verify that it was off and followed your instructions. I am still dead in the water. After about 10 minutes of idle time I opened the task manager to see that TC was not responding. I did also load up TrueView and can see that the files open correctly.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2009, 07:33:48 AM by gabe williams »

turbotech

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Postmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1165
    • TurboTECH
Re: Can not open DWG
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2009, 10:43:18 AM »
Gabe,

Right click the turbocad icon on your desktop and choose run as administrator.  When the open dialog comes up hit cancel.  When turbocad comes up choose open from the file menu.  Open the offending DWG.  Let me know if the results are any different than before.
Rip Fowler
IMSIDesign LLC

gabe williams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Can not open DWG
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2009, 11:14:51 AM »
Rip,

I'm getting the same message from windows that TurboCAD has stopped working and that windows will look for a solution. But I did not have to kill it through task manager....

turbotech

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Postmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1165
    • TurboTECH
Re: Can not open DWG
« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2009, 11:30:15 AM »
I am not sure what else to suggest other than a clean install.


1) Using add or remove programs remove all versions of TurboCAD and symbols installs.

2) Delete all of these folders.

C:\Users\your user name\AppData\Roaming\IMSI

C:\Users\your user name\AppData\Roaming\IMSIDesign

C:\Program Files\IMSI

C:\Program Files\IMSIDesign

3) Clean the registry if you donít have a registry cleaning utility I would recommend regseeker which can be downloaded from hoverdesk.net  http://www.hoverdesk.net/freeware.htm

Or use the windows live scan from Microsoft (depending on what settings you choose this may take care of both steps 3 and 4)

http://onecare.live.com/site/en-us/article/registry_cleaner_why.htm

4) De-fragment your harddrive.

5) Download the full version of 16

http://support.turbocad.com/dl/downloads/TurboCAD-Pro-16.exe

6) Install TurboCAD from the downloaded installer.


Rip Fowler
IMSIDesign LLC

gabe williams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Can not open DWG
« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2009, 11:39:52 AM »
Thanks so much for the help. I did come up with a solution. The infracting .dwg is located on our local server. The same server all of my drawing files are on. I copied the .dwg to my machine and it opened up like a champ. I'm not sure what the difference is, but it seems to be working. I will look into the other solutions you posted and get back with the out come.

Gabe

turbotech

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Postmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1165
    • TurboTECH
Re: Can not open DWG
« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2009, 11:50:13 AM »
Thanks for the info.  I will see if I can repeat the issue. 

I don't know that a clean install will be necessary or helpful.
Rip Fowler
IMSIDesign LLC

Leo67201

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Can not open DWG
« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2009, 02:23:50 PM »
i got a 4 MB dwg file from a client.
tc 15.2 opens it.
tc 16.o (build 36.7) says ... failed to open ..................   file not open.

the tc 16.0 and the tc 15.2 report shows a lot of errors like this:

An invalid XData handle (3BFE30) was found. Validation: Invalid. Replaced by Set to Null.
AcDbPoint(3BFEFF).
An invalid XData handle (3BFE2F) was found. Validation: Invalid. Replaced by Set to Null.
AcDbPoint(3BFEFF). An invalid XData handle (3BFE2E) was found. Validation: Invalid. Replaced by Set to Null.
AcDbPoint(3BFEFF). An invalid XData handle (3BFE2D) was found. Validation: Invalid. Replaced by Set to Null.
AcDbPoint(3BFF00). An invalid XData handle (3BFE07) was found. Validation: Invalid. Replaced by Set to Null.
AcDbPoint(3BFF00). An invalid XData handle (3BFE06) was found. Validation: Invalid. Replaced by Set to Null.

The failure reports do not show the same errors, but tc 15.2 opens the file.

Leo